FREUDLP141 Play Dead John Peel Session at BBC mockup 225px cover LPPLAY DEAD release their three previously unreleased BBC John Peel sessions from 1982, 83 and ’84 in a limited-edition blue vinyl LP.  It features ten tracks, four of which were never recorded elsewhere and early versions of some of their most popular songs such as The Tenant and Propaganda.  

Between 1980-85 they grew into one of the UK’s leading post-punk bands with regular indie chart hits and a large loyal live following.  The Peel Sessions helped with their exposure alongside extensive gigging (with UK Decay, Sex Gang Children, Killing Joke, The Cult and more), subsequent headline tours in their own right and a live spot on the UK’s top music TV programme, The Tube.   Shop here: Browse Play Dead


On various labels (Jungle, Situation 2, Clay and Tanz) they issued a series of singles, a live album Into the Fire and three studio albums: The First Flower, From the Promised Land and Company of Justice.     

Tracks: Effigy, Metallic Smile, Pray to Mecca, Propaganda, Gaze, The Tenant, Total Decline, Break, No Motive, Return to the East.  With inner bag with unseen photos

Cat.No: FREUDLP141   UPC: 5013145214114   Release date: September 1 2023.

Seen on TV on the Tube:

Play Dead164 Peel Sessions pic550px

FREUDLP141 Play Dead John Peel Session at BBC 550px cover LP